Chocolate Brownies

For me, there are few desserts that can top a fresh out of the oven, hot, fudgy, chocolate brownie. There is something about the density, the richness, and chewiness of this treat will have me choosing it over others every time. I’ve made several versions lately and this is definitely a contender. I don’t know if it was the wonderful valrhona cocoa powder that Jordan bought for me last week or if it is the carefulness taken when mixing everything together, but I just love the texture on these. Watch out.

I’ll be taking these brownies with me to my parent’s house for thanksgiving tomorrow… I know, not your typical dessert for the feast, but my mom already had the pies covered. So it was this or cookies… and I was dying to try out that cocoa powder! Enjoy your holiday!

Ingredients

7 ounces chopped semi-sweet chocolate (I used chocolate chips I had on hand)

1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter

3 tablespoons cocoa powder (My favorite is Valrhona)

3 eggs

1 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup all purpose flour

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line an 8×8 pan with foil or parchment and butter the bottoms and sides.

Melt the chocolate and butter together in a double boiler, stirring occasionally until everything is melted and smooth. (I don’t have a double boiler, so I set a medium bowl over a simmering sauce pot. Just be sure to be careful, as the bowl gets hot!) Once the chocolate and butter have melted, whisk in the cocoa powder. Set this aside and let it cool until you’re ready to use it.

In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs, sugar, vanilla, and salt until well combined. Slowly whisk the chocolate/butter mixture into the egg/sugar mixture. Stir in the flour until just barely combined. Be careful not to over-mix.

Pour into your prepared pan, making sure to spread it around as evenly as possible. Bake about 25 minutes (my oven seems to run really hot, so keep an eye on yours) until an inserted toothpick comes out mostly clean, a few crumbs are ok. Cool, cut, and enjoy!

Source: Ever so slightly adapted from Shauna Server, The Next Door Baker

Leave a Reply

