Chicken Soup With Dumplings

Thanksgiving is one of those holidays that I’ve never loved. What?! She has a food blog… She should love food. I don’t trust her, let’s go! Wait. Don’t leave. Let me explain. There’s something about the abundance of food all at one time… and I hate feeling over full… let me continue by playing the world’s tiniest violin so you can actually feel some sympathy for me.

What I do love about Thanksgiving is getting to see most of my favorite people all at one time. This year was no exception. I could go on about how thankful I am for all of them, but I’m pretty sure you all stopped reading after I told you my feelings towards over-eating.  I will say I’m so proud to come from such loving and generous people. Also, if the future of the world rests in the hands of my younger cousins… well, I’m more than ok with that too.

So after eating like a baby dinosaur, (I know, I blame myself, not the day) I didn’t have an appetite for anything. I figured some soup was in order, specifically the chicken type. I had never actually made chicken soup from scratch before. Not only was I surprised at how easy and simple it was to throw together, but I realized it’s an amazing way the use up what you have left in the kitchen. And in order to entice Jordan into eating it, I threw some dumplings in there. Fluffy, delicious, goodness. A hot bowl of this and I may never get out of bed.

Ingredients

1 large chicken breast, cooked and shredded

Fresh herbs, optional 

Lemon, optional

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 carrots, diced

Half an onion, diced

2 celery sticks, diced

Half a butternut squash, peeled and cubed

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped 

5 1/2 cups chicken broth

Salt and Pepper to taste

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup milk

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup flour

1 egg

Instructions

In a sauce pot, cover chicken with cold water. I like to add whatever herbs or citrus I have in my fridge. In this case, it happened to be a sprig of rosemary and half a lemon.  Bring water to a boil. Cook until chicken is tender, about 10-15 minutes. Remove from water, shred and season with salt and pepper.

Add olive oil to the bottom of a pot. Add vegetables and sweat them down, about 5 minutes. Mix in shredded chicken and cilantro. Add broth. At this point, give it a good couple of stirs. Let everything simmer until the veggies soften. Mine took about 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, for your dumplings, bring milk and butter to a boil. Remove from heat and add salt and garlic. Stir in the flour. A dough ball should form around the spoon. Add the egg. Spoon dumpling dough into soup, each about a tablespoon in size. Take care not to compress the dough or roll them into balls, as this can make the dumplings tough. Cover and simmer for another five minutes. When the dumplings float up to the top, they’re finished cooking.

I like my soup topped with extra cilantro or oregano and a little bit of cheese. Enjoy!

Source: Dumplings adapted from Mr. Bobby Flay

Leave a Reply

