Cinnamon Top Banana Muffins

IMG_3038

For once, buying too much of something has made me awesome. As a fiend for bananas, I eat them on everything: yogurt, cereal, toast, cookies, other fruit, and especially with peanut butter. Yes I’ll take some banana with my spoonful of peanut butter. With that said, I like my bananas on the green side because I tend to pair them with sweeter things. Plus I find them to be less of a mushy mess.

So as you can probably guess, I’ve passed on my share of spotty bananas. And I’ve tried so many banana bread recipes to remedy this silly situation I keep getting myself into. And this is it! I’ve found my favorite thus far. These muffins have an awesome flavorful inside and a crazy crunchy top. (And everybody knows the muffin tops are the best part anyway) Even though I didn’t add them this time, I think walnuts would make these extra delicious.

We have some friends coming to stay with us this weekend so I’m looking forward to adding these muffins as part of a big, Saturday breakfast.

Yield: 12

 Ingredients

3/4 cups whole wheat flour

3/4 cups all-purpose flour

IMG_3004

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon coarse salt

3 large ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup brown sugar, lightly packed

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted

Topping

1/3 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

dash of coarse salt

Instructions

Preheat oven to 400°. Line muffin tin. (Note: the Faux Martha says that increasing the temperature of the oven while baking muffins helps them puff up higher.)

Combine the flours, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a a different bowl, mix together the bananas, sugars, egg, and butter.

Add the mixtures together, and stir until just combined. Make topping in a separate bowl. Cut the butter into the other ingredients using the back of a fork.

Fill muffin liners about 2/3 full. Top with crumble. Bake for 18 minutes.

Source: The Faux Martha

 

Leave a Reply

