Roasted Butternut Squash

Well, he’s here. We’ve been waiting and waiting and he finally made it. James Ryan, the newest addition to the family was born on 1/2/13. Not only is he the first little one to officially make me an Aunt, but now I have a reason to buy toys. I have a reason to bake robot cookies, and super hero cakes, and best of all, dress up vegetables to look like really cute things in hopes of him giving them a try. Not that any of that will be my job, his mom and dad are already extraordinary parents. I want to be like my Aunts are; full of fun, adventure, creativity, new surprises, and especially helping to spark my curiosity about the world.  I’m so excited I get to pass that on to a new little punk.

IMG_2757

 Recently, I’ve been all about the roasted veggies. Beets, carrots, squash, pumpkins. It seems that the hot oven just brings out the natural sweetness and transforms them into a better, friendlier, even chattier (yes, they get along better with other foods) version of the vegetable’s self. And what I love most about it? It couldn’t be easier and the oven warms up our little apartment on a cold day. (This genius finally called the gas company to fix our heater, yay!) Plus I feel like my favorite chef, Ina Garten while doing it. If she roasts, everyone should.

Ingredients

1 butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and cut into chunks about the same size
A few glugs of olive oil
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste

Instructions
IMG_2731

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place the cubed squash on pan and drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Give it all a good toss to make sure it is evenly coated. Keep the squash in one layer. Roast it in the oven for about 25-30 minutes. When it is fork tender, it’s ready. Try not to eat all of it while standing over the warm oven.

 Note: I use this in salads, on top of pizzas, in sandwiches even. 

Leave a Reply

